Stephanie steps Through the Glass

Posted: September 15, 2009 in What's going on..., Xamination
Stepahnie is in a new place in her life (photo: Moussa Moussa)

Stepahnie is in a new place in her life (photo: Moussa Moussa)

Michaela Moye

Nollywood darling Stephanie Okereke has stepped up. The actress, who is a recent graduate of the New York Film Academy, premiered her directorial debut at Silverbird Galleria, Lagos this past Sunday, 13 September.

The usual suspects were present: red carpet, white limo, hours-long tardiness and the ubiquitous rude “service providers” in the form of waitresses and ushers.

After much delay a montage of, frankly, disturbing images of her 2005 accident served as pre-movie entertainment – that and Patrick Doyle’s booming, oft-annoying commentary.

In true Naija style, Stephanie gave a speech (again)! This is after all the yakking that went on at the cocktail pavilion o! Anyway, she said: “You are not here to see the best movie ever made.”

Of course, the oyibo co-stars were made to run the speech gauntlet (Well, technically, only Christy Williams, who plays Nicole in the film, is oyibo. Impossibly cute Brion Rose is African-American).

When the tape began rolling on Through The Glass (at last), it felt kinda weird to hear Nollywood theme music in a Hollywood film. My first thought was whether D’banj & co. were getting their royalties.

The movie itself is pretty good. There were a few blank spaces but that happens in every film. It’s obvious that Stephanie now knows what she’s doing (at least as far as making movies is concerned).

After the premiere, gift bags were handed out and there was a raffle draw (I just grabbed my freebies and ran out – good thing too: bumped into 2Face on the way downstairs!).

The after-party held at the tres swanky Clear Essence Spa (don’t have photos yet, sorry!).

But you can check out the premiere red carpet: All photos by Femi Kuti

Yes people, apleasant start to a photo gallery

Yes people, a pleasant start to a photo gallery

There's Kanayo O. Kanayo (in the white caftan) who recently attended the hunger strike rally against piracy. Doesn't look like this saint is fasting

There's Kanayo O. Kanayo (in the white caftan) who recently attended the hunger strike rally against piracy. Doesn't look like this saint is fasting

And here is Nollywood hunk Chidi Mokeme. I wonder if his outfit is from his line. I also wonder if he and his lady friends planned to wear matching silver (check out his loafers)

And here is Nollywood hunk Chidi Mokeme. I wonder if his outfit is from his line. I also wonder if he and his lady friends planned to wear matching silver (check out his loafers)

John Fashanu: Gosh, I'm gorgeous! Wish I had a third arm though Left-out dude: What's with the three-way handshake? This must be some weird ritual greeting. wonder if it'll make National Geographic?

John Fashanu: Gosh, I'm gorgeous! Wish I had a third arm though Left-out dude: What's with the three-way handshake? This must be some weird ritual greeting. wonder if it'll make National Geographic?

Guy in strange clothes: Ha! Dude, what are you wearing? Silver shoes? C'mon! Chidi Mokeme: I'm Chidi Mokeme. I'm hot. Ladies love me and I can wear silver shoes and leave my shirt unbuttoned and I would still look cool because... Other Guy: I get it. You're Chidi Mokeme. Chidi Mokeme: And to quote Perez Hilton, Fergie, you're fugly! Other guy: I'm not Fergie. CM: Well no one knows who you are...

Guy in strange clothes: Ha! Dude, what are you wearing? Silver shoes? C'mon! Chidi Mokeme: I'm Chidi Mokeme. I'm hot. Ladies love me and I can wear silver shoes and leave my shirt unbuttoned and I would still look cool because... GSC: I get it. You're Chidi Mokeme. CM: And to quote Perez Hilton, Fergie, you're fugly! GSC: I'm not Fergie. CM: Well, no one knows who you are...

Hey, look! You tie matches my dress...well, almost

Hey, look! You tie matches my dress...well, almost

"Yes, darling! I have dispensed with my natural eyebrows. I find that black kohl is more fetching and blends so well with my blonde weave and red lipstick...so Marilyn Monroe. Don't you think?"

"Yes, darling! I have dispensed with my natural eyebrows. I find that black kohl is more fetching and blends so well with my blonde weave and red lipstick...so Marilyn Monroe. Don't you think?"

Looks like Saint Obi is about to give Patrick Doyle the finger

Looks like Saint Obi is about to give Patrick Doyle the finger

Ah, there it is!

Ah, there it is!

The limo's been spotted, press dash forward to get the best shot and the requisite baby to be kissed is produced. Or it could just be she forgot it was a baby and not a camera. Or she's pretending her baby is a camera...There are so many ways to read this...

The limo's been spotted, press dash forward to get the best shot and the requisite baby to be kissed is produced. Or it could just be she forgot it was a baby and not a camera. Or she's pretending her baby is a camera...There are so many ways to read this...

They're here! Chrissy Williams and Brion Rose were dressed by Nigerian designers - TYL Couture and MAI, respectively

They're here! Chrissy Williams and Brion Rose were dressed by Nigerian designers - TYL Couture and MAI, respectively

Ready for the close-up

Ready for the close-up

IMG_0456

Comments
  1. j says:

    hi stephanie u are pretty young and no matter they say plzs keep up.
    plzs email me i like u like a sister to me plzs byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee