Hunger Dey Waya!

Posted: August 27, 2009 in What's going on...

Michaela Moye

DSC_0201

To quote Dro Ameh, a bundle of Nigerian musicians embarked on a hunger strike on Tuesday, August 25. The strike is meant to last until the Yaradua government closes down Alaba Market – apparently the musicians believe that closing down Alaba will put a stop to piracy in the Naija entertainment industry. It’s been a few days. I haven’t yet heard a government response. The Alaba Boys don’t seem to be interested (maybe it’s because they’re busy…) either.

The question that is begging to be answered is “Have any of those artists eaten today?”

Reporter: Mr. Okoroji, do you think this hunger strike will be effective? Mr. Okoroji: Ahem, certainly...we are talking about my diet aren't we?

Reporter: Mr. Okoroji, do you think this hunger strike will be effective? Mr. Okoroji: Ahem, certainly...we are talking about my diet aren't we?

Ha ha ha ha ha! Like'll I'll starve myself...

Ha ha ha ha ha! Like I'll starve myself...

Wrapped dreads: 'Jah man, you sure we in the right place?' Cap over Dreads: 'Search me. These folk talking 'bout hunger strike! Abeg make we comot before dem see my water!'

Wrapped dreads: 'Jah man, you sure we in the right place?' Cap over Dreads: 'Search me. These folk talking 'bout hunger strike! Abeg make we comot before dem see my water!' Dreadlock in orange glasses: 'I wish I could remember why I'm here...'

g

A hungry man is an angry man

A hungry man is an angry man

I believe Mr. Neji is taking part in a Nipples Pageant... but I'm not exactly certain why Mr. Stripey over there is trying to disguise himself as a hot air balloon

I believe Mr. Neji is taking part in a Nipples Pageant... but I'm not exactly certain why Mr. Stripey over there is trying to disguise himself as a hot air balloon

Do you recognise any of these artistes? I don't

Do you recognise any of these artistes? I don't

This photo reminds me of those university class shots we were forced to take for the yearbook (note the guy kneeling down; and Stella playing the part of Most Popular Girl)

This photo reminds me of those university class shots we were forced to take for the yearbook (note the guy kneeling down; and Stella playing the part of Most Popular Girl)

Ah yes, let us exploit the little children... Dress them up in their Sunday best and put them in the sun. Starve them too because piracy affects all of us

Ah yes, let us exploit the little children... Dress them up in their Sunday best and put them in the sun. Starve them too because piracy affects all of us

Because exposed elderly mid-riff is such a sexy sight

Because exposed elderly mid-riff is such a sexy sight

Read the complete news account here.

In the spirit of illegal music, enjoy this!

You can also watch Tony Okoroji’s interview on http://www.234next.com

Comments
  1. Dro says:

    Stella supporting a hunger strike with a full stomach and smile. huh tricky!

  2. wienna says:

    looooool….i don’t think i’ve had so much laugh reading a blog before. Seriously, whoever writes those captions on the photos needs a salary bonus asap. First on the blog. Now i need to go and read the old entries. Nice job guys.

  3. Toks says:

    LMAO!! The captions are fantastic.

    But you guys might breed some serious beef.

    Can you maybe put the comments button at the end of each blog piece so that those of us who want to comment don’t get confused?

  4. Laba Labasa says:

    God! You guys are hilarious. Seriously, I almost stop breathing from laughing. Una no go kill me o.